[OSList] Announcing the new OSLIST Poet Laureate

Mon Feb 20 17:04:04 PST 2012

I am pleased to announce the new OSLIST Poet Laureate...
Agneta Setterwall !!!

As Poet Laureate she will be holding space on OSLIST for poetry about  
and inspired by Open Space over the next six months.

Please join me in welcoming Agneta !

Below is her poem.
And below that is a little history of the OSLIST Restricted Form  
Poetry Contest and a list of our past Poet Laureates. A deep bow to  
you all, and to poetry - Lisa


An open space?
I hesitate

A call somewhere?
I hesitate

An open door?
I hesitate

And people too?!
I hesitate!

Supposed to speak?
I hesitate!!

Tell what I need...
I hesitate...

Tell what I want?
I hesitate!

And they all hear...
I doubt they do!

They will not care!
I´m sure, I´m sure...

And... there they come!
Oh my! They do!

And now we talk!
We do! We do!!!

...they listen too...
...and so do I...

...and what will come...?
Oh my! Oh my!!!

-- Agneta Setterwall (Uppsala, Sweden)


History of the OSLIST Restricted Form Poetry Contest

“For all those who might be curious, the OSLIST Biannual Restricted  
Form Poetry Contest started in the spring of 2000 when I issued the  
challenge to the list.  [The late great] Ralph Copleman actually began  
the whole thing with a contest in the fall of 1999 (which I won) and  
so he is the “Poetry King” for all time.  I just claimed the “Poet  
Laureate” title in an effort to have some fun.  It was something of a  
one martini idea, and I was out of gin at the time...”

'Restricted form' means some described form or boundary for the poem -  
as in this recent Poetry Contest where you were invited to create  
poems about or inspired by Open Space and breathing, trusting the  
unknown, and emergence.


Our Past OSLIST Poet Laureates

Ralph Copleman 1999
Chris Corrigan 1999
Chris Weaver 2000
Jeff Aitken 2000
Florian Fischer 2001
Laurel Doersam 2002
Audrey Coward 2002
Joelle Everett 2003
Florian Fischer 2003
Joelle Everett 2004
Lisa Heft 2006
Teresa Pokasony 2006
Karen Sella 2007
Jeff Aitken 2008
Anne Hiha 2008
Esther Ewing 2009
Chris Corrigan 2010
...and now... Agneta Setterwall 2012


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.openspacetech.org/pipermail/oslist-openspacetech.org/attachments/20120220/542d3cbc/attachment-0007.htm>

More information about the OSList mailing list